LEARN FLAMENCO and SPANISH DANCE THIS WINTER WITH AMERICAN BOLERO DANCE COMPANY

posted by amboleroadmin

When:

6:30 PM
Monday, January 7
4:30 PM
Monday, January 7
5:30 PM
Monday, January 7
7:00 PM
Tuesday, January 8
6:30 PM
Thursday, January 10
2:00 PM
Saturday, January 12
12:00 PM
Saturday, January 12
1:00 PM
Saturday, January 12
4:30 PM
Monday, January 14
6:30 PM
Monday, January 14
5:30 PM
Monday, January 14
7:00 PM
Tuesday, January 15
6:30 PM
Thursday, January 17
2:00 PM
Saturday, January 19
12:00 PM
Saturday, January 19
1:00 PM
Saturday, January 19
5:30 PM
Monday, January 21
6:30 PM
Monday, January 21
4:30 AM
Monday, January 21
7:00 PM
Tuesday, January 22
6:30 PM
Thursday, January 24
2:00 PM
Saturday, January 26
12:00 PM
Saturday, January 26
1:00 PM
Saturday, January 26
6:30 PM
Monday, January 28
4:30 PM
Monday, January 28
5:30 PM
Monday, January 28
7:00 PM
Tuesday, January 29
6:30 PM
Thursday, January 31
1:00 PM
Saturday, February 2
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 2
12:00 PM
Saturday, February 2
6:30 PM
Monday, February 4
5:30 PM
Monday, February 4
4:30 PM
Monday, February 4
7:00 PM
Tuesday, February 5
6:30 PM
Thursday, February 7
1:00 PM
Saturday, February 9
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 9
12:00 PM
Saturday, February 9
6:30 PM
Monday, February 11
5:30 PM
Monday, February 11
4:30 PM
Monday, February 11
7:00 PM
Tuesday, February 12
6:30 PM
Thursday, February 14
12:00 PM
Saturday, February 16
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 16
1:00 PM
Saturday, February 16
6:30 PM
Monday, February 18
5:30 PM
Monday, February 18
4:30 PM
Monday, February 18
4:30 PM
Monday, February 25
5:30 PM
Monday, February 25
6:30 PM
Monday, February 25
7:00 PM
Tuesday, February 26
6:30 PM
Thursday, February 28
1:00 PM
Saturday, March 2
12:00 PM
Saturday, March 2
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 2
5:30 PM
Monday, March 4
4:30 PM
Monday, March 4
6:30 PM
Monday, March 4
7:00 PM
Tuesday, March 5
6:30 PM
Thursday, March 7
12:00 PM
Saturday, March 9
1:00 PM
Saturday, March 9
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 9
5:30 PM
Monday, March 11
4:30 PM
Monday, March 11
6:30 PM
Monday, March 11
7:00 PM
Tuesday, March 12
6:30 PM
Thursday, March 14
1:00 PM
Saturday, March 16
12:00 PM
Saturday, March 16
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 16
4:30 PM
Monday, March 18
5:30 PM
Monday, March 18
6:30 PM
Monday, March 18
7:00 PM
Tuesday, March 19
6:30 PM
Thursday, March 21
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 23
1:00 PM
Saturday, March 23
12:00 PM
Saturday, March 23

Where:

Sol Dance Center, 30-16 Steinway Street, Astoria, NY 11103

Description:

American Bolero Dance Company’s Spanish Dance School is offering courses in Flamenco and Spanish Dance for adults and children, ages 4 and up, during its 2013 Winter session from January 7 until March 23.  Classes in Queens, NYare held on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at SolDanceCenterin Astoria, and in Long Island on Mondays at Saint Paul’s MinistryCenterin Great Neck.  Gabriela Granados, Artistic Director and Founder of ABDC and the School, heads the dance faculty.  Teachers are trained in Ms. Granados’ dance method, a unique educational approach that follows a comprehensive age-based syllabus and combines elements of Flamenco, Ballet, Spanish Classical and Regional Folkloric Dances, and Character Dance.  Castanet playing is also taught as part of students’ regular coursework.  Performing opportunities are available to serious and dedicated students.  Private and Semi-Private instruction can be arranged upon request.

Gabriela Granados founded American Bolero Dance Company in 1996 with a mission to preserve and present Spanish dance and music in their diverse forms.  Since the age of 4, she has trained extensively in a wide range of classical and regional Spanish dances as well as Flamenco, Classical Ballet, Character dance and Latin American folklore.  As a professional dancer, Ms. Granados has performed internationally, touring her signature productions in New York City, the Mid-Atlantic States and Europe to critical acclaim.  In Spain, she performed in three of Madrid’s most legendary tablaos flamencos: Los Canasteros, Zambra and Las Brujas.  In the United States, she has performed with the flamenco companies of Maria Benítez, Andrea del Conte and Carlota Santana.  She choreographs for and appears regularly with her own company, as well as with orchestras and opera companies. The New York Times has called Ms. Granados’ professional productions “exuberant and stylish” and her solo work “stunning…a tour de force”.

As a dance educator, Ms. Granados served on the faculty of the Neubert Ballet Institute for over a decade.  Additionally, she has been an artist-in-residence at LaGuardia High School of Music, Art, and the Performing Arts, on the faculty of Broadway Dance Center, a freelance teacher at Fazil’s Times Circle Rehearsal Studios, and a guest teacher and lecturer for the Dance Departments of New York University and Barnard College.

CLASSES AT AMERICAN BOLERO DANCE COMPANY’S SPANISH DANCE SCHOOL:

IN LONG ISLAND 

Mondays
4:30 PM: Flamenco Kids (Beginner)
5:30 PM: Flamenco Teens (Intermediate to Advanced)
6:30 PM: Adult Beginner Flamenco (TBD, if adequate enrollment)

Studio:

SAINT PAUL'S MINISTRY CENTER
68 Grace Avenue (at St.Paul’s Place)
Great Neck, NY 11021  

IN QUEENS, NYC

Tuesdays
7:00 PM: Flamenco Teens (Advanced Beginner) 

Thursdays
6:30 PM: Intermediate-Advanced Flamenco & Clasico Espanol - Adults & Teens

Saturdays
12:00 PM: Spanish Dance Kids (ages 4 – 6)
1:00 PM: Spanish Dance Pre-teens (ages 7 – 11)
2:00 PM: Spanish Dance Teens (ages 12 – 16)

Studio:

SOL DANCE CENTER
30-16 Steinway Street (near 30th Ave)
Astoria, NY 11103
(By Subway: R or M trains to Steinway Street)

PRICES (for 10-week course starting the week of January 7, 2013):

Children’s Tuition (includes classes & registration fee)
: 1student - $175Families registering more than 1 child: 2nd student - $145; 3rd student - $125

New
students may take a TRIAL CLASS for $20. This will be considered a first day deposit if the student is then registered. Balance is due on the second day of classes.

Note:
New students may be accepted in the midst of the 10-week session at the discretion of the School's Director.  However, it is strongly recommended that they join for the full course.

Adult Tuition: Single class - $20; 5-Class Card - $85 (valid for 2 months); 10-Class Card - $160 (valid for 3 months) 

 For more information, contact American Bolero Dance Company:

Phone:  (718) 392-8888
Website:  http://www.ambolero.com

Details:

$0.00 See event description for children and adult tuition
718-392-8888