Lexington School takes soccer title
Nov 30, 2011 | 10256 views | 0 0 comments | 65 65 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Lexington School for the Deaf’s boy’s soccer team went undefeated for a second consecutive season, winning the ESDAA Metro Deaf Soccer Tournament. The team, recognized by DeafDigest Sports’ as 2011 Soccer Team of the Year, was led by Coach Frank Wells and Assistant Coach Spencer Stelmach. They finished this season with an overall record of 14-0.

The team won the ESDAA Metro Deaf Soccer Tournament, beating American School for the Deaf 7-2 in the semi-finals and then defeating NYSD 1-0 in the championship game.

They then went on to complete their perfect season with a 3-1 victory over Martin Luther High School in the IPPSAL championship game. The team has been named the Top Deaf High School Team in America for the past three years by DeafDigest and the National Deaf Interscholastic Athletic Association.

“The boys continued their hard work and did exceptional job this season,” said Wells. “We are so proud that all their effort is paying off and that they are not only scoring goals but achieving them.”

Team captains Madine Meftah and Satish Thapa, and team members Noel Carino and Suraj Ghale, were named to the Metro Deaf All-Tournament Team.

Members of the 2011 team were Samer Abualya, Noel Carino, Taher Chowdhury, Tanvir Chowdhury, Steven Ciprian, Raymond Devarez, Andy Espinal, Amos Fletcher, Suraj Ghale, Santiago Guerrero, Tyler Horner, Kristian Jimenez, Christian Maldonado, Hanley Martinez, Madine Meftah, Evans Seraphin, Vikra Singh, Satish Thapa, Manuel Cortez, Francisco Hernandez, Mohammed Hoque, Parmdip Singh, and managers Will Jones and Tyliek Walls.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet