STJ takes 8th Big East title
May 27, 2015 | 10474 views | 0 0 comments | 453 453 recommendations | email to a friend | print
St. John’s saw a five-run lead erased by a five-run seventh, but rallied back and held on to defeat Creighton, 8-7, and win a conference-record eighth Big East Tournament crown.

Zach Lauricella finished 2-for-5 with three RBI and Robert Wayman went 3-for-3 with two RBI to lead St. John’s (39-14) to its 15th-straight win, the program’s longest winning streak since 1977.

Matt Harris also went 1-for-3 with two RBI and Alex Caruso was 1-for-2 with three walks and two runs scored as the Red Storm won both the Big East regular season and tournament crowns for the second time in program-history (2012).

Starter Chris Kalica tossed 4.1 scoreless frames for a no-decision, while Joe Kuzia (3-1) earned the win in relief and Ryan McCormick picked up his first-career save.

Caruso earned Jack Kaiser Most Outstanding Player honors after batting .600 (6-for-10) with four walks, seven runs scored and a .714 on-base percentage in three games. Harris (.545, four RBI), Zach Lauricella (.333, six RBI) and Ryan McCormick (1-0, one save, 0.90 ERA) joined Caruso on the Big East All-Tournament Team.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet